In my early twenties, I was in a relationship that lasted seven years. The first few were sunny and sweet, the next not so (luckily I had moved to Berlin on my own for the very end). No fault of either of us, but at the time we both did not understand how to express our needs or realise that the way we treat others is a refection of the way we feel about ourselves.   I remember one afternoon on the number 73 bus in London I read a review of a book by Susan Jeffers called ‘Feel the Fear and do it Anyway in the Time Out magazine’. Knowing I was in a dead end relationship yet unwilling to let go of the ‘comfort’ of being with someone, I got off at the next stop and bough the book at the next WHSmiths.   Susan Jeffers died last month. Her book was the first ‘self help’ manual I ever read. It changed my way of thinking from ‘why is this happening to me’ to ‘what can I learn from this, how do I use it to the good of all concerned’.   Don’t get me wrong it was no miracle cure, it was still two years before I was able to finally end the relationship. However, ever since I have embraced ideas that resonate with me about learning about life.      Thank You Susan, Love S

